top of page

MAC Chris Chang Lipsticks


I recently bought 4 lipsticks from the limited edition Chris Chang collaboration with Mac cosmetics and I was so pleased with the shades I had to share them with you.

The packaging is beautiful on these lipsticks, although it is stretched due to the shape of the lipstick bullets and nowhere near as stunning as the compact which was also part of this collection. However, the nature of the pattern of the packaging does guarantee that no two lipsticks are identical, which is quite nice and these are almost Monet in appearance with the blurred imagery and bright colours seemingly melting together. So while not perfect, not a complete disaster.


There were 5 lipsticks in this collection but I skipped on the yellow gold one as that is just not my colour.


Here are my swatches and thoughts on the 4 I got.


This is Vermillion Vee - a true bright red, with no obvious undertones this is a neutral bright shade that is super pigmented and wears very well. Its a matte finish and described by Mac as a clean true red which I would say is accurate.

This amazing bright clean true Barbie-esque pink is called DDDevilish, its a matte finish and described by Mac as a pastel hot pink, I would agree with that. Again this has no obvious undertones and its a beautiful striking bright clean Barbie pink, not as neon as Candy Yum Yum but certainly bright. It applies smoothly and is creamy and pigmented and gorgeous on - I love this one.


This amazing shade is Cloud Gait, its an amazing aqua blue shade and is a lustre finish, described by Mac as a pastel turquoise, again i have to agree but this definitely has a little frost to it, I use this as a topper lipstick, it looks amazing in the centre of the lip as a highlight, on top of The Storm by Estee Edit but equally as amazing on top of any lilac, purple or blue toned pink. I love this one, its different and its a great addition to my collection.

My favourite is Plum Princess, its such a unique shade, its cool and dusty looking and is different from anything else in my collection. This is described by Mac as a pastel plummy lavender and is a matte finish. This is super pigmented and creamy and I love wearing this, it looks great with a matching lavender eye and also used with other darker shades to create a purple ombre lip. Its very wearable in my opinion and would work well with any skin tone.


Now lets get to some swatches:

If you want to see my video, and see lip swatches then please click on the thumbnail below. I also got an eyeshadow and powder from the collection.



Overall I thought this was a lovely collection, I liked that it wasn't too large and that there was a nice selection of shades with great pigmentation and finishes.


bottom of page